L E A D   C H A I R
Home Page Home Page

The University of the West Indies (UWI) was established in 1948 as a College of the University of London.  It achieved full university status in 1962 and today it is the only pan-Caribbean tertiary level institution offering a wide array of diverse and accredited programmes to 40,000 students throughout the region.

Through its four campuses, Cave Hill, Mona, Open Campus, and St. Augustine, UWI provides high quality education, research and other services in Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, The Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago.

The University of the West Indies is the region’s premier educational institution.  Its faculties offer a wide range of undergraduate, masters and doctoral programmes in Humanities and Education, Pure and Applied Sciences, Science and Agriculture, Engineering, Law, Medical Sciences and Social Sciences.

A number of the Caribbean leaders in the public and private sectors are graduates of UWI, including seven of the current Prime Ministers.  The majority of Rhodes Scholars in the region are graduates of the University.